All about trifle

February 12 All about you

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

My about page on this blog reads:-

This is a companion blog to Sue’s considered trifles.  I am calling it Sue’s Trifles to suggest a connection between the two blogs.  Having a second blog will allow me to respond to prompts and challenges and interact with the blogging community, while maintaining a fairly uniform style in my first blog.

I have chosen the WordPress theme “Pachyderm” as it is probably my favourite word.  Not all the animals in the header image provided are pachyderms, though!

Trifle has been one of my favourite desserts since childhood.  A trifle has three layers.  Jelly, custard and cream.  The jelly layer may also contain sponge, sherry and sometimes fruit depending on the recipe.  So tasting a trifle may produce a pleasant surprise.  I hope that you, my readers, will have some pleasant surprises in my future posts.

Mum’s recipe for sherry trifle is

Trifle sponges broken in the bottom of a trifle dish

A sherry glass of sherry poured over the sponges

A red jelly (raspberry or strawberry) dissolved and poured over the soaked sponges while it is still warm.

Allow to cool.  Meanwhile make up some fairly thick custard using (Bird’s) custard powder.  When this is cool enough spread it over the jelly layer.

Next spread whipped cream on top.  Decorate with glacé cherries or vermicelli as required.

Dad and I always used to ask for seconds!

If I make trifle, I use Mum’s basic recipe, but I do not usually have custard powder, glacé cherries or vermicelli in stock.  I have to make custard using an egg and milk.  It’s tricky.

I have explained elsewhere why I chose the title of Sue’s considered trifles.

Written for 365 Days of Writing Prompts.

