Call me, maybe

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?  (365 Days of Writing Prompts)

My preferred means of communication in the modern world is e-mail.  I can send one and the recipient(s) are not disturbed.  They can read it at their leisure (or even at work).

The same applies to me.  If the phone rings it needs to be answered.  At certain times of day it is likely to be an automated call – “our records tell us that your household is definitely eligible for a free boiler”.  We sometimes put the handset on the nearest surface and wait for the caller to go away!

I have some friends who phone occasionally and that is good.  Some of them do not use computers much if at all.

My Mum is such a busy person that we have to have appointments to phone each other.  We usually speak twice a week for around half an hour.

Skype is another lifeline.  Some people use their phones for this, but mine is becoming an anachronism.

My mobile phone usually goes out with me.  I regard it as a lifeline.  Only a few people call or text me on it.  Before our children were married it used to ring more.  Now I am not their first port of call.  Hubby eventually acquired a phone of his own and on very rare occasions I contact him on it.  Sometimes we arrange that I will just let it ring a few times as a signal that I need a lift home and he comes to fetch me.

Of course, there is no need for a phone to talk to or hear from God!

Posts by others:-

http://rachbaznsime.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/addicted/

http://cpraveenkumar.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/my-relationship-with-my-phone/

http://theonlydeadheadinthehameau.com/2014/02/05/hang-up/

http://chloemayward.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/call-me-maybe/

4 thoughts on “Call me, maybe

  1. My situation is much like yours. I question if it even makes sense for me to have both the landline and the cell. I very rarely get calls on my cell, but I like to have it just in case when I’m away from home. I prefer my home phone, but I don’t get that many calls from people I’d like to hear from. I think people are afraid of calling others for fear of bothering then. Then again maybe people don’t want to talk to me. I prefer to believe the former. But I don’t call people like I used to either.

    Lee
    A Few Words

    Like

Comments are closed.