Burnt to a cinder

Although I didn’t write a post for yesterday’s 365 Days of Writing Prompts, which asked for the five items I’d rescue from a house fire, I am looking at the follow-up prompt about what I would regret leaving behind.

There is no question here.  It is an item which could not be moved quickly or easily.  It is one of the things which has been part of my life for longer than I have been married.  I have grown up with it.  When I feel creative in a particular way, I gravitate towards it and spend half an hour or more with it, exploring the creative output of many people from earlier times and a few from today.  I have neglected it from time to time, both in terms of maintenance and tender loving care.

Its mechanism has lain untouched for long spells of time in the past.  Recently I have begun to appreciate it more than ever and it is in good working order.  If an inanimate object can be regarded as a friend, this one is one of my best friends.  I could replace it with another of its own kind, but it would not be the same.  To use a popular expression, “We go back a long way.”

Have you guessed what it is?  Click here to see whether you were right.

Other posts for this prompt:-

http://chloemayward.wordpress.com/2014/01/31/burnt/

http://agastypriyanka.wordpress.com/2014/02/01/january-31-burnt/

4 thoughts on “Burnt to a cinder

  1. I was thinking desk you grew up with, but knew that I was wrong. Our piano is on craigslist for free. It’s too old and can’t be tuned anymore. It’s sad because it’s the piano I grew up playing, but we need the room for The Transporter’s new keyboard – he already plays electric guitar and wants to return to the piano, which he took 5 lessons on in kindergarten. He’s a junior. I’m just happy he’s interested in music. It’s something The Engineer and I share, and how we met.
    Tina @ Life is Good
    A to Z Team @ Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2014
    @TinaLifeisGood, #atozchallenge

    Like

Comments are closed.