Living in the present

The sun is shining, casting long winter shadows across the waterlogged football pitch.

The radio is churning out the lunchtime news.

The C key on my laptop is playing up leading to spelling mistakes and multiple log-in attempts.  I am beginning to feel as if my cough and cold are over, for which I am thankful.

Outside the temperature is higher than usual for the time of year.  Sheep graze, seagulls soar, plants continue to prepare for spring; almost imperceptibly signs of new life become obvious over time.  There are spring flowers nearby – snowdrops and winter aconites.  Bluebells show promise, as do daffodils and pale mauve crocus spikes too shy to open fully this early in the year.

People are going about their business, in cars and vans, in schools, shops and hotels in this village and further afield perhaps in factories, call-centres, banks and offices.  I am in one place, but it is connected to the rest of the world – the nearby towns, roads stretching to the county, the region, the country, the continent, the world.

I am looking forward to spring, to renewing friendships, to continuing a number of writing projects already beginning to take shape in my mind or on my computer.

As I check this post for any infiltration of tenses other than the present I am not finding any.

I am reflecting that it is in the present that we have all our opportunities.  I am planning my activities and my writing goals.  Writers of fiction often employ the present tense to introduce excitement, when they describe past events. We can only live in the moment, but our decisions now are already affecting our future.

After all tomorrow never comes – it is always today!

Today’s Daily Prompt is

Write a post entirely in the present tense.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us NOW.

