From another point of view

I’ve been thinking hard about this writing prompt of Rarasaur’s.  Her prompts have that effect on me.  I have taken part in a number of her prompt for the promptless challenges, writing about concepts I had never heard of previously.  She stretches a blogger’s intellectual muscles.

So whose point of view should I describe myself from?

My maternal grandfather was born in the year of Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee.  He returned from WW1, travelled a few hundred miles from his birthplace in search of work and found someone to marry.  To cut a long story short I was his first grandchild born when his wife was almost seventy years old. (He was a few years younger.)

I did not see him often, because Mum had moved a long way from her childhood home to marry Dad.

Grandad was a man of few words, but with an impish sense of humour.  He had worked hard all his life and was still a keen gardener in his old age.   Mum seemed to value his opinions and remember what he said about me.  She wrote home once a week as they never had a telephone.  No doubt they read about our lives and achievements.

The few comments Grandad made about me indicated that I was a worker – I was helping with a food preparation task about which Mum and I disagree.  I thought I was shelling peas, but Mum’s memory is different.  There is no-one left to consult about this.  Have you noticed how people’s memories can play tricks on them and the same incident is recalled in a completely different way?  She was probably right and we were preparing fruit for home-made wine.

One summer holiday I had a project (involving research and writing) to work on for school.  I took it with me on our week’s visit to these grandparents.  Grandad made a comment, as I was sitting at the table engrossed in my work.  I can’t remember it verbatim, but it indicated that he thought I was in my element.

He enjoyed a game of cards (whist, cribbage or Newmarket) or dominoes, but would never play for money, claiming that took all the pleasure from it.  I suppose he would have been described as the strong silent type.  He did make a few comments about my experimentation with fashion in my teens, notably dangling clip-on earrings.  The one Mum quotes seems wise to us: “It’s no use saying aught!”

8 thoughts on “From another point of view

  1. Pingback: Kick ‘er ‘ead in! – Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: The Shoes of Francisco de Encinas (1520-1552) | Running Brook Reflections

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Leave Your Shoes At The Door | Joe's Musings

  4. This was so warm and affectionate, I loved seeing you through the eyes of one who loved you muchly. Thank you for sharing the story, and thanks for participating in this week’s challenge! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for reading it. One anecdote I deliberately omitted from the post might amuse you. When I was very young, Grandad said, “This one’ll be prime minister!” At that time there had never been any female PM; post Margaret Thatcher, his comment would not have been quite as funny. Sue

      Like

  5. Pingback: Laptop Fever [FLASH FICTION] | Ramisa the Authoress

Comments are closed.