What do you know?

Sometimes the daily prompt sparks an immediate reaction.  Not so today’s.

We all know how to do something well — write a post that teaches readers how to do something you know and/or love to do.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TEACHING.

Without wishing to boast, there are so many things I enjoy doing that I am rather spoilt for choice.

It would be difficult to teach you how to solve a cryptic crossword.  I have solved one since lunch.  (The daily prompt arrives at 1pm here in the UK.)  The information is available on-line already.  There is a well-known puzzle publisher with a website.

If you blog, I don’t suppose you need any instruction on using a word-processing program such as Word or the box on WordPress, where you can type directly (and risk losing your information, in the event of a power cut or other unexpected fault).  I do have some particular hints and tips learned from experience, but I don’t believe in spoon-feeding people!

I could give you some hints and tips for helping the environment, but I’ve already done that.

I could direct you to a post I have read today about standards for posting to social media.

I could give you some knowhow for sewing and knitting.

Or I could tell you the story about the person people make jokes about. He went for a job interview.  He was asked whether he knew his 9 times table.

Oh, yes, he replied and he wrote a column of numbers downwards:-

0

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

Then he started at the bottom and wrote another column upwards starting 0,1, etc:-

So he had

09

18

27

36

45

54

63

72

81

90

So now you have a neat way of constructing the 9 times table.

Have you seen this done before?  Does it help you recognise whether a number is divisible by nine?

16 thoughts on “What do you know?

  1. Pingback: Making Chocolate Fridge Roll – Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  2. If you add the individual numbers of any number and the resulting sum is divisible by 9, then the original number is divisible by 9.
    For example: 918
    9+1+8=18
    18 is divisible by 9 therefore 918 is divisible by 9.

    Like

  3. Pingback: How to make a felt rose | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Socratic Dialogue, How to Write/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Lunch at the Ranch – Horses and Mules | Running Brook Reflections

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teaching | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Of a how-to… | Concentrate On Yourself

  10. Pingback: How I paint – Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Caring and Creating

  11. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Lunch Posts | Joe's Musings

Comments are closed.