In a crisis

Many years ago I was first a Brownie and  then a Girl Guide.  Among the armful of proficiency badges I gained as a Guide, were Fire-fighter and Emergency Helper.

I had to attend training sessions at the Fire Station once a week for a few weeks and learn about the different sorts of fires and fire extinguishers.  I had this training reinforced at least twice in later life as a student (with hands-on experience) and in the workplace.

People tell me I am calm, which is usually true.  I do not usually panic, although I have experienced panic attacks.  I do not yell or scream and I certainly do not cry over spilt milk.  (I spilt some on the day I began to write about this prompt!)

One time I was not calm in a crisis was after a road traffic accident.  I must have been suffering from shock.  I had a mobile phone, which I hardly ever used.  I could not remember how to use it and handed it to my teenage son, who painted a different picture for the emergency services than I’d have done!  Fortunately no-one was seriously hurt, although our car was written off.

Although I have also received training in First Aid, I lack confidence and would always be happier to let someone else tend to a casualty.  I can do the “Reassure the patient” part and I can pray.

Today 365 Days of writing prompts asks

In a crisis

Honestly evaluate the way you respond to crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?

Posts by others http://rachbaznsime.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/daily-write-17/

http://chloemayward.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/in-a-crisis/

2 thoughts on “In a crisis

  1. I know what you’re saying. I’m probably much the same way as you. Fortunately I haven’t had to deal directly with any truly catastrophic situations and I would hope I’d be able to get through okay, but I would probably prefer that someone else deal with it.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Comments are closed.