Epiphany musings and my thought patterns

There was a time (within living memory) when even busy working people managed to get to church on saints days and other Holy days.  Today is one such day.  It is Epiphany.  The day the wise men arrived to visit the young child, Jesus.

Nowadays we celebrate Epiphany on Epiphany Sunday, which was yesterday.  It marks the end of the Christmas season.

There is some confusion about whether Twelfth Night is January 5th or Epiphany.  It is traditionally the day Christmas decorations are taken down.  Ours have come down today and have gone up into the loft.

It is a shame that people are not prepared to observe the traditions of the Church and mark the important dates by gathering together to worship.  The Church has accepted that the world has changed.  So the church has changed to accommodate the ways of the world.

In Romans 12:2 St   Paul wrote Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Click the link for the rest of the verse.  I find this a very interesting idea and one worth praying about.

Perhaps as more people learn the importance of worship, the church will be able to move closer to traditional service schedules.

In Hebrews 10:24 the writer urges his readers not to give up meeting together.

This post is the result of my thoughts over a number of days.  I wrote most of it early this morning, but needed to check the Bible references and other details.  I have many ideas overnight, perhaps because there are not so many distractions as during the day, although some physical tasks, such as ironing may be done while pondering on other matters.  I also think while I am walking around and many of the ideas I encounter on the worldwide web spark off new lines of thought.  Of course, I am one of those people, who has been accused of thinking too much!

I usually wait until the Daily prompt has been published before I post, to see whether it inspires me or whether my latest draft has second-guessed it in any way.

Today’s prompt is

When and where do you do your best thinking? In the bathroom? While running? Just before bed, or first thing in the morning? On the bus? Why do you think that is?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us THE BEST.

