My blogging year – 2013 in review

At the beginning of 2013 I had been blogging for less than six months.  I had one blog with 51 posts and a few pages.  I was posting frequently, but not regularly.  Once written, a post was published immediately.  So there might be two or three a week.

The main thing was that I was enjoying writing.

When I had been blogging for six months I became a little bored with just writing in the style of my English language blog and began to branch out.  By the end of March I had another blog.

This was just in time to take part in Blogging from A to Z in April.  (Sign up for 2014 from the end of January!) I participated in other challenges through the year.  Apart from responding to many Daily Prompts and a few Weekly Writing Challenges, I have participated in Blog Action Day, Blog Every Day in November and Fifty States of Pray.  I have written a guest post for Blogging from A to Z in April and contributed to two e-books about blogging.  I have also widened my horizons with some of the prompts for the promptless from Queen Creative.

I have created a Facebook page for my blogs and have joined Twitter.  Rather rashly I entered both blogs in the UK Blog Awards – Sue’s considered trifles in the Education Category and Sue’s Trifles in both the Education and Lifestyle Categories.  One vote is allowed per person in each category.  Please click on the buttons in my sidebar to go to the voting page and receive a free e-book in which entrants (including me) are interviewed.

At the end of the year I have 170 posts on Sue’s considered trifles and 214 on Sue’s Trifles, where I have managed to post every day since 25 October.  I may slow down a bit in 2014!

Although I have spent a lot of time sitting at my lap-top, I have also been busy in the local community and visiting family members.  For me 2013 has been a good year.  It has bee a time of  learning new skills and renewing old ones.  I have enjoyed friendships old and new, online and offline.  I have been to places I never dreamed I’d visit.  My craft projects have given me enjoyment and something to write about.  Musical activities have included two concerts, many church services, where I sing in the choir, carol-singing and occasionally playing in a small orchestra.  Only yesterday I was privileged to be able to visit a care home with the orchestra and join in on descant recorder playing carols for the residents, staff and visitors to sing and other music for them to listen to.

I have much to be thankful for as I look forward to the New Year.

Today’s Daily Prompt is about being a new person tomorrow morning.

Tomorrow is the first day of a brand new year. Tomorrow you get to become anyone in the world that you wish. Who are you? You can choose to by anyone, alive today or someone gone long ago. If you decide to stay “you” share your rationale.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us METAMORPHOSIS.

I have (at last) learned to be comfortable in my own skin.  How about you?

16 thoughts on “My blogging year – 2013 in review

  1. Pingback: I Just Want To Be Me: Daily Post | Just Visiting This Planet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: EFFECTIVE TOMORROW | hastywords

  4. Pingback: A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow | The Story of a Guy

  5. Pingback: Plain Ol’ Me | A mom's blog

  6. Glad to read all about your writing experiences Sue ! May the next year be filled with more challenges for you and more happiness 😉 A very happy new year to you 🙂 Love xx

    Like

  7. Pingback: WordPress Is Having A Barbara Walters And Oprah Winfrey End Of Year Special | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Meet The New Me – Same As The Old Me | Edward Hotspur

  9. Pingback: Surfer Rob is one singular sensation | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: of new year resolutions « Anawnimiss

  11. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “A Felicitous Word” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Comments are closed.