A Moment of clarity

The Daily prompt was A moment of clarity yesterday.  (I am late because we were without mains electricity and internet access all day due to a storm.  The conditions were atrocious for the engineers working to restore power. I am very grateful for their efforts.)

I prefer to think of it as an “A-ha” or “Eureka” moment.

There is one which has stuck in my mind for nearly thirty years.  It happened as I woke up on Easter Day.  (Don’t click away yet, this is perhaps one of my least religious posts.)  It was during the seven years when I had stopped going to church.

At the time I was married, childless and working full-time.  As if I hadn’t enough to do, I knitted by hand and on a machine in my spare time.

I had recently bought an attachment for my knitting machine, which was intended to save time and make knitting with more than one colour much easier.  It was called a colour-changer.  (It automatically took one colour of yarn from the feeder and replaced it by another, saving the knitter the trouble of stopping and rethreading the machine every two rows.)  The trouble was that I had a project I wanted to use it for, but I could not work out how to do it.

On that Sunday morning I woke up knowing exactly what to do.

The colour changer was designed to be used with a knitting machine (photo below) and ribbing attachment. (This looks like two machines joined together at an angle with the knitting hanging down between them.) The pattern I was using did not require the ribbing attachment. The colour changer did require it.

The sudden, surprise realisation was that all I had to do was set up the machine with the ribber and the colour changer, but set the ribber so that it did not knit any stitches.

It worked.

Although I was still very shy, I offered to demonstrate the technique at the Machine Knitting Club I belonged to at that time. My offer was accepted and I hope the members found it interesting. I remember the demonstration did not go all that smoothly and I was asked what I would have said at home when something went wrong and had to be put right!

File:Home knitting machine.jpg

Flatbed knitting machine (without ribber) Photo credit Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Home_knitting_machine.jpg

Tell us about a time you’d been trying to solve a knotty problem — maybe it was an interpersonal problem, a life problem, a big ol’ problem — and you had a moment of clarity when the solution appeared to you, as though you were struck by lightening.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us AWESTRUCK.

One thought on “A Moment of clarity

  1. Pingback: When does an idea count as a brainwave? | Sue's Trifles

Comments are closed.