The best day in my life

The best day ever is today’s Daily prompt (at least until 1pm GMT when the next one will be published.)

I have slept on this prompt and formulated a plan for a post.  I would not plan the sort of day suggested by the details of the prompt.

You get to enjoy the best day ever — describe in detail what that means to you. Where are you? What will you do? What’s the weather like? What will you eat? Who will you see?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us INDULGENT.

There have been memorable days in my life, but I could not think of a day that stood out from the rest.

Some time ago I heard a talk given by a bishop.  He advised his listeners to pray every morning that they would be led by the Holy Spirit.  (Christians believe in one God, who is Father, Son and Holy Spirit.)  I began to make this my prayer (when I remembered!)

Some exciting things have happened on days when I have consciously asked God to lead me.  I have met people in the street, who needed directions.  One day I was running an errand and realised I was not using the direct route.  Just as I turned through about thirty degrees I saw a friend walking towards me with her husband.  In my bag was a book I was going to lend her!

Yesterday afternoon I went for a walk after Christmas lunch – turkey and all the trimmings.  (Hubby stayed in to do the washing up.)  I was in a reflective frame of mind.  I remembered a friend of mine (a close contemporary) who died of cancer a few years ago.  She had often walked this route and I remember asking her after she became ill, whether she was still going for walks.  She had replied that she still did her prayer walk.

I have often prayed while walking, but have never had a designated prayer walk.  My thoughts turned to another friend, whose husband had died during the year.  I knew she was dreading Christmas Day on her own.  I lifted her up to God in prayer.

As I continued on my way, enjoying the beauty of the place where I live and the sunny weather – such a contrast from the storm of the previous day, I stopped to allow a some people to take a group photo.  When they had finished, I wished them a Happy Christmas and they returned the greeting.  There were  two people ahead of me wearing Santa hats.  I wondered whether I knew them.  They turned back towards the village and I was about to follow them, when I decided to continue and perhaps have a look at the beck another few hundred yards ahead of me.

I did not reach the beck.  I was nearly there when I saw the person who had been in my thoughts on the way to the seafront.  I turned back with her and we chatted for a few minutes as we walked along.  She may not have spoken more than a greeting to anyone else that day.  I doubt whether she had a hug from anyone else.  It made my day that she was out and about and a series of apparently random events and timing led us to meet.

My thoughts about the best day in my life are that every day should be a blessing.  There are psalms and hymns about days.

This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Psalm 118:24

  New every morning is the love.

