All I want for Christmas

Blog Every Day in November is a challenge hosted by Elizabeth of Rosalilium a lifestyle blog.  Today’s topic is All I want for Christmas.

I’m not looking for much in the way of Christmas presents.  There is a book I’d like, but that’s about it.

After all, Christmas is for children, isn’t it?

I don’t think a year goes by without hearing someone express this point of view.

I do not agree with it.  Christmas is for everyone.  Yes, it should be a special time for children, but it should be special for everyone – from the tiniest baby to the oldest person in the world and everyone in between.  Jesus himself said, “Unless you become like a child, you will not enter the Kingdom of Heaven.”

Everyone is invited to Jesus’ birthday party.

How are you going to celebrate his birth?  Does it make a difference to your life today that a baby was born about two thousand years ago in Bethlehem of Judea?  Have you read the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John?  Do you know what Jesus said about himself?

What I want for Christmas is that people will take the time to consider again the message of the angels, “Peace on earth, goodwill to men.”

I hope that more people than ever will attend a church service at Christmas.  I pray that the Good News about Jesus will be told all over the world and that many will respond by listening, receiving this news and believing it.

I hope all my readers will remember why we celebrate Christmas.  It may be politically correct to call it the winter holiday.  Jesus was not and is not politically correct.

One thought on “All I want for Christmas

Comments are closed.