What motivates me?

Blog Every Day in November is a challenge hosted by Elizabeth of Rosalilium a lifestyle blog.  Todays topic is Motivations.

Mixed motives is not always a complimentary expression.  It smacks of doing the right things for the wrong reasons.

There are a number of motivations which help me to keep busy.

Firstly I am rather competitive.  If I have no-one to compete with I might compete against myself!  Don’t athletes do that when they are training to beat their personal best?  I do it with all sorts of things.  I knit quickly.  I aim to use my time effectively, although I have to admit to spending too much time in unnecessary activities on my laptop.  Looking at my stats could be likened to watching paint dry!

Secondly, my faith should result in action.

I know that there is nothing I can do, which could earn God’s forgiveness or any of the gifts he promises to those who believe in Jesus as saviour.  This is a free gift from God.  The way I live my life should be in obedience to Him.  My actions do not earn me any blessings; they are a response to God’s goodness.

I still have to make choices and sometimes I do not choose well.  When I confess my mistakes, God forgives me and restores me and gives me another chance.

I believe that using my talents to the best of my ability is part of my service to God.  Taking opportunities to help others and to show them something of God’s love should be one of my aims.

I have enough life experience to know how I behaved at various times in my life, what I did right, what I did wrong and I am sometimes willing to share this knowledge with others.

Now I experience the peace and the joy which come from God, I am motivated to share my faith with others.  The challenge is to discern how best to do so.

