Fashion

Blog Every Day in November is a challenge hosted by Elizabeth of Rosalilium a lifestyle blog.  Today’s title is

It’s only fashion, Baby!

Fashions come and fashions go.  I’ve seen a few in my lifetime.

I have a fascinating book entitled Fashion.  It was a Christmas present when I was a teenager.  The advice about giving presents, “Choose something you would like to receive!” was taken seriously by my aunt.  She said, “I hope you like it, but if you don’t, I’ll have it!”

It is a history of fashion ending with the mini-skirt and Mary Quant.  That is where my knowledge of fashion really starts.  To wear a mini-skirt the correct length in the 1960’s involved kneeling on the floor and measuring up 4 inches.  This was the bottom of the hem.  It was perfectly OK for skirts, but dresses turned out to behave differently!  A skirt is fixed at the waist.  A dress moves more, particularly if it is worn for ballroom dancing!

Not long afterwards maxi-skirts arrived.  I had a red maxi coat with a long scarf, which I think I made myself.

A pop-song which was all the rage was about “A dedicated follower of fashion”.

I cannot describe myself in that way.  I know what I like.  If I don’t like it, I don’t wear it!  Some years I have walked around clothes shops and not bought anything.

My style of dressing could perhaps be described as classic or conservative.  I dress more for warmth and practicality than to impress.  On occasions I dress up, but there are not many occasions.

On Sundays my clothes are topped by a choir gown, which is a shade of cherry red.  It is a little limiting in what colours look well with it.  Other shades of red, pink, orange and purple may clash.

I dress up for concerts as I am on view.  Even then I do not wear any make-up.

My shoes are mostly practical as I walk a lot and like my feet to be comfortable.  I am already wearing my winter boots, gloves, scarf and hat to go out.  I hardly need to say that they are in addition to my coat!

I enjoy making things and had a great time with making batwing sweaters on my knitting machine, when they were fashionable in the early eighties.

Animal print dress

Animal print dress

I also do some dress-making and have a favourite pattern, which I have used four times now.  I could not find a dress I liked for a family wedding, so I made one.

The dress in the photo was made using this pattern with the largest amount of extra ease.  The printed fabric includes giraffes and leopards as well as trees, flowers and glitter!  I have lost a lot of weight since this photo was taken in June 2009. (See my before and after photos here.)

