Newsflash

Blog Every Day in November is a challenge hosted by Elizabeth of Rosalilium a lifestyle blog.Today’s topic is Newsflash.

This was one prompt I was not looking forward to writing about.  So much news is about disasters, crime, tragedies and other upsetting things.  Good news does not seem to feature in news reports.

Today I am happy that there is an item of news, which does not fit the list above and is something, which really interests me.

Oxford Dictionaries have named their “Word of the year”.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-24992393

The word is selfie. 

I first noticed this word earlier this month, although its history goes back more than a decade in Australia.

Being of the silver-surfers’ generation I am not always the first to learn these sorts of words.  Another Blog Every Day in November participant used it in her Day in the life post.  The meaning was self-evident.  (I mean it was obviously referring to taking a photo of herself;  it didn’t mean self-evident!)

If you would like to see a selfie of me you could check out my twitter profile.

I wonder what other newsflashes will attract bloggers attention today?

2 thoughts on “Newsflash

  1. I see “selfie” a lot on Google Plus from all the photogs. They even have a special day of the week they call, “selfie sunday”. I don’t do them… I’m not a photogenic person.

    If you’d like to see what I posted today for my newsflash, check my blog post out… Not a negative post. =-D [http://kaeakingskid.blogspot.com/2013/11/world-toilet-day-top-news-bedn.html]

    Like

    • Checked it out. It is a day I hadn’t hear of before. My The End post is likely to include a summary of what I have learned this month through blogging and Twitter! Thanks for reading and commenting. Sorry This reply is just here. I find it very difficult to comment on other platforms. Sue

      Like

Comments are closed.