Hobbies

Blog Every Day in November is a challenge hosted by Elizabeth of Rosalilium a lifestyle blog.  Today’s topic is hobbies.

Hobby is an interesting word.  It was originally hobby-horse.  One of my hobby-horses is my fascination with words.  I wrote about hobby-horse in a post on my blog about words, Sue’s considered trifles.

Apart from blogging about words, using words and doing crossword and other word (and number) puzzles, I have other hobbies.  Any activity done for its own sake rather than to earn a living could be described as a hobby.

So my hobbies include reading, writing, music, languages, knitting, sewing and other crafts.  I also enjoy playing games, such as Scrabble.

I enjoy walking in the countryside and by the sea looking out for interesting flowers, fungi, birds and butterflies.

My hobbies which are receiving the most attention at present (apart from blogging) are knitting, sewing, reading, puzzles and music.

People who can do something they enjoy as a means of making a living are very fortunate.  Almost everyone has to do some things they do not really enjoy.  Perhaps this is good for us as it helps to build character.  If we do something we’d prefer not to have to do with a cheerful attitude rather than a resentful one, we may come to enjoy doing it eventually!

