Favourite folk

Blog Every Day in November is a challenge hosted by Elizabeth of Rosalilium a lifestyle blog.  Today’s topic is Favourite folk.

I think I’d be unusual if I did not put my family at the top of my list of favourite folk.  As most of our family live over one hundred miles from hubby and me we do not see them very often.

We live in a village where there is a real community.  Although I do not know a large proportion of the people who live here, those I do know include many movers and shakers.  Walking around the village almost everyone exchanges a greeting.  The British weather keeps us going for things to say other than, “Hello”, “Hi!” “A’right?”

We have, “Nice weather for ducks!” “Lovely day!” “Bit nippy!” and any number of expressions of complaint.

People seem to have time for each other.  Perhaps the pace of life is slower than in a city.  It is worth pointing out that life in the country can be more difficult in some ways.  Many amenities are not available except in towns.

My favourite folk after my family are the members of the ladies’ Bible study I attend.

They are part of my group of trusted friends.  Others include former members of the group, who may have moved away or who now meet together in a nearby town.  I make an effort to keep in touch with them.

Here is a test of friendship.  There is an expression, “I wouldn’t go out of my way to speak to her!”  A true friend is someone we make a real effort to speak to, whether it is face-to-face, on the phone or using email or social media.

4 thoughts on “Favourite folk

  1. Where would we be without the weather to talk about? Where I live it’s a staple conversation piece at bus stops! Loved this post – looking forward to mentioning my favourite people later today.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Relax | Sue's Trifles

  3. Pingback: Yes moments | Sue's Trifles

Comments are closed.