Bonfire Night

Today’s topic for Blog Every Day in November is Bonfire Night.  Well, it is November 5th!

I have been blogging for over a year now.  Last year I marked Bonfire Night with my first seasonal post.  I still regard it as one of my best, although some people may disagree with the last derivation I gave there.

One of the joys of writing is that there are so many different ways to approach a topic, so there is always something new to say.

On the Bonfire Nights of my early childhood, Dad used to venture out into the dark with the box of fireworks and a box of matches.  We stood at the French windows and watched through the small panes.

In later years we went outside wrapped in warm clothes and waved sparklers about.  Dad set off the jumping crackers on the lawn.  I seem to remember one chasing him!  Catherine wheels posed a problem.  If the nail was hit into the fencepost too many times the wheel did not spin, too few and it was liable to launch away from the post altogether.

I have attended a number of organised firework events in various places, not always in November, let alone on November 5th.  It is customary to join in with “Ooh” and “Aah” as the rockets go up and explode.  My children were taken to some of these in preference to having fireworks at home.

Fireworks have been used as a way of celebrating for a long time.  Handel wrote a lovely suite of Music for the Royal Fireworks.  He lived from 1685 to 1759.

File:RoyalFireworks.jpg

A VIEW of the FIRE-WORKES and ILLUMINATIONS at his GRACE the Duke of RICHMOND’S at WHITEHALL and on the River Thames on Monday 15 May 1749. Performed by the direction of Charles Fredrick Esq.

Hand coloured etching showing the Royal Fire-workes and Illuminations in Whitehall and on the River Thames on Monday 15 May 1749. The occasion for which George Frideric Handel composed his Music for the Royal Fireworks.

Photo Credit and quotation Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:RoyalFireworks.jpg

There was a tragic accident at this display.

The technology of fireworks has improved over time, but there is still danger in playing with fire.

Have a happy and safe Bonfire Night everyone!

2 thoughts on “Bonfire Night

    • Thanks for visiting, Claire.
      I popped across to your interesting post about books. I read and enjoyed the first of the books on your list some time ago and the second one in my youth. Books possibly feature more on my other blog. Sue

      Like

Comments are closed.