Light

Please read my Copyright page.  I have had a post re-blogged by a new follower without permission.

For the Blog Every Day in November Challenge Elizabeth has chosen a topic for each day.

Today’s topic of Light is huge.  I hardly know where to begin.  (But I know exactly where I’m going to end!)

One of the wonderful things about light is that it can be split into colours using a prism.  This is what happens naturally when we see a rainbow.  The raindrops act like tiny prisms.

Light is necessary for sight in the natural world.  Infra-red photography and x-rays use different wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation from white light.

The sun gives light by day and the moon by night.  In our technological age it is difficult to find a place where there is little artificial light at night so that the beauty of the stars may be seen.

Jesus claimed to be “The Light of the world.”  Holman Hunt painted a picture of Him in this guise; it is very famous.  I have used it in a different context in a post on my other blog.

I woke up yesterday morning with snatches of an anthem going through my head.  We used to say we had a tune on the brain.  Now the term an ear-worm is popular.

It took me a while to sort out and place the words and music.  It is a setting by John Rutter of a prayer from the Old Testament. Numbers 6:24-26.  The words are closer to the New King James Version of the Bible and I am linking to those.

The Lord bless you and keep you:
The Lord make his face to shine upon you, and be gracious unto you;
The Lord lift up his countenance upon you, and give you peace.

That is my prayer for each one of you reading this post.
File:Hunt Light of the World.jpg

Holman Hunt’s Painting The Light of the World
Photo credit Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Hunt_Light_of_the_World.jpg

Related post Lighting up

