My first day at school

The Daily Prompt is

Daily Prompt: First!

by michelle w. on October 30, 2013

Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us BEGINNING.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I can remember my first day at school. Some of the things I remember are real memories, others I can reconstruct from the regular events in our family’s routine.
I had breakfast consisting of cereal followed by an egg cooked in one of a variety of ways and bread or toast. (This may not be correct as by the age of eight I did not like eggs – on the other hand you can have too much of a good thing!) Whatever was on the menu I left the house well-fed and wearing a winceyette blouse with a dark green pinafore dress and brown lace-up shoes with fawn socks.
Those details may not be correct either. As my birthday is in the summer, I started school after Easter and probably went in a summer dress and cardigan, white socks and sandals with crepe soles!
My actual memory of the day, not a reconstruction, but a real memory is that there were girls a few months older than me, who were only too willing to help the newcomers. I knew one of them already as our mothers had become friends at the clinic before we were born and had kept in touch. We regularly visited each other’s homes for tea.
The activity I remember was taking a pencil for a walk across a piece of paper and then colouring in the shapes we made.
I also remember playing with sand and water, which were in two barrow-like containers. The sand was silver sand and useless for building sand castles as I did in the sandpit in our garden.
I went home for dinner. My mother cooked dinner at lunchtime (Non-UK residents, don’t ask about our terminology!) This meant that she walked half a mile in the morning taking me to school and returning home, the same distance twice at lunch time in order to meet me and return me to school within an hour and the same again at home-time (3:15pm). So she must have walked two miles a day before any shopping trips.
The classroom for the new pupils had a real fire in the form of a stove and doors which opened to the outside allowing our class direct access to the school grounds for story-time, weather permitting. It was also the nearest to the entrance.
I have other memories from this time, but they are not from the very first day.

5 thoughts on “My first day at school

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: First! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Thanks for the visit. In the East End of London, Bethnal Green, we just had dinner and tea. Lunch was something in the future. Mums certainly had their work cut out in those days. I also remember the spoon of Malt at playtime break, although that was later.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The First Time I Participated in the WordPress Daily Prompt | Cheri Speak

  4. Pingback: My home town | Sue's Trifles

Comments are closed.