Dawn

The latest Daily Prompt was Dawn.

Daily Prompt: The Golden Hour

by michelle w. on October 27, 2013

6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00AM bedtime?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us DAWN.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The early morning is the time for larks.

As a child I sometimes woke and quietly let myself out into the garden to swing as the sun rose over the rooftops.  I did not do this very often, but it was adventurous to leave the rest of the family asleep.  After breakfast I might experience motion sickness on the swing!

If I did not get up and go outside, I’d read before breakfast at weekends.  For some reason there was no spare time on weekdays; the alarm clock signalled a rush to get ready for school.

Nowadays I have started to rise early if I wake up feeling rested.  After my Quiet Time I catch up on my laptop before breakfast.

I do not envy parents who feel obliged to rise with their young children every day.  I have the choice.

The clocks have changed here for the winter.  It becomes lighter earlier in the morning now than it did last week.

I cannot sustain a routine of getting up at the crack of dawn, but I enjoy the days when I manage this.

3 thoughts on “Dawn

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Golden Hour | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Comments are closed.