Raindrop race results

My raindrop race lasted longer than I expected.  It was rather like the Tortoise and the Hare in Aesop’s Fables (which is available free for the Kindle or Kindle app).

When I began the commentary on the race I had this post on my Facebook page.

Have you ever watched raindrops on a window and waited to see which of two would reach the bottom first?
I’m doing something similar with the statistics for my two blogs. http://suesconsideredtrifles.wordpress.com/ needs 10 more followers to pass the next century mark and https://suestrifles.wordpress.com/ needs 4. Watch this space.

Sue’s Trifles won on September 23, 2013 and it has taken Sue’s considered trifles until October 7, 2013 to be acknowledged by WordPress as having reached this landmark.  I noticed that e-mail follows do not appear to count towards the totals.  I have one for Sue’s Trifles and three for my first blog.

The race then was for 13 and 5 new followers.  Hardly surprising that it took two weeks longer for enough new followers to click.  Someone even “unfollowed” my blog during this time.  I suppose I should be happy it was not more!

In the meantime Rara Saur has posted about the state of followers.  Many have left the blogosphere as active participants.  Who knows whether they are now lurkers?

Her post may be read by clicking the link. http://rarasaur.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/are-you-dead-or-alive/

I like to check my stats.  They give an interesting picture of bloggers’ activity as the day progresses with Australasia, Asia and Europe being hours ahead of America.

However I am only too aware that stats are not a true picture of whether my blogs are being read at all.  Some followers may be reading the email feed or the RSS feed.

I admitted a few weeks ago that both my blogs were eligible for a Liebster Award (fewer than 200 followers) so I’ll leave you to guess how many followers each has now.  I publish two posts a week on my first blog and usually manage more on the second one.  I have also been looking at the number of followers compared with the number of posts, but that is another story.

I have been looking into the strange world of twitter.  I am not going to fall into any kind of numbers game trap if/when I begin to tweet.

I might find a few interesting twit(terer)s to follow though!

Philippians 3:13-16 is a passage with encouragement to press on.

2 thoughts on “Raindrop race results

  1. I’ve seen better results from Twitter than FB– it’s interaction from my same group of readers, but it seems to remind them immediately. I don’t post nearly as often as others, but it seems to work with far less effort than FB. 🙂 Congrats on setting such awesome action goals! 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.