Fear

Today’s Daily prompt is

Do you like being scared by books, films, and surprises? Describe the sensation of being scared, and why you love it — or don’t.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FRIGHTENING.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Are people with vivid imaginations more easily frightened than others?

I can remember many nightmares I have woken from.  For me horror films and any books dealing with horror are to be avoided.  Thrillers are as much as I can stand.  My first encounters with science fiction fascinated and terrified me.  Maybe I was too young.

Perhaps that is the reason that as a teenager one of my favourite verses from the Bible was “Perfect love casts out fear.”  1 John 4:18

Fear can be a cause of inaction or a reason people do not live their lives to the fullest.

The Bible is a collection of sixty six books.  There is history – some of it very bloodthirsty – poetry, prophecy good news and letters of encouragement and explanation.

Fear is mentioned early in the history section.  Adam and Eve were afraid.  Genesis 3

God told Joshua repeatedly, “Fear not and be of good courage.”  Joshua 1:6

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge.  Proverbs 1:7

Here fear is awe rather than fright.  God is holy and powerful, but he made us and loves us.

It is his perfect love which is able to cast out our fear and enable us to live the lives He intended us to live.  Without having experienced fear, would we appreciate the love God offers?

14 thoughts on “Fear

  1. Pingback: Fright Night | Kate Murray

  2. Pingback: Frightening!!! | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Eccentric Lady

  5. Pingback: Yiiikess!!! | A mom's blog

  6. I remember watching Twilight Zone at a very young age. I think that’s what steered me away from anything scary for the rest of my llife. When I was five, my Grandma taught me to say the 23rd Psalm by heart. That is my mantra when I can’t sleep at night.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Scare-raising: it’s not just for anyone anymore! | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Yes, that is frightening! | Processing the life

  9. “horror films and any books dealing with horror are to be avoided”..I do agree with what you said Sue..I find horror movies ridiculously unhealthy..It consumes the mind.And besides it’s not good to fill in the subconscious with the terrifying thoughts.

    I’m new to blogging and wordpress.I started it because it interests me.I chose “pachyderm” theme because it looks friendly..I would like to ask for your kind help on how to improve my blogs..thanks sue=)

    Best regards,Rachelle

    Like

    • Hello Rachelle, thanks for commenting. Your blog looks interesting and I am following it. When you have time you might edit your about page. It would make it easier for people to find your blog if you add its URL to your gravatar profile. The main thing is to enjoy blogging. 🙂 Sue

      Like

  10. I will do.Thanks for your advice Sue..I have followed you also..when i have plenty of time I will read your posts.i’ll benchmark on you.I highly appreciate your help=) Rachelle

    Like

Comments are closed.