Unplugged

Today’s Daily prompt surely strikes a note with all bloggers.

Sometimes, we all need a break from these little glowing boxes. How do you know when it’s time to unplug? What do you do to make it happen?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us UNPLUGGED.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

When my laptop was new earlier this year I used to run it off the battery and recharge as required.  It helped me ration the time I spent using it.

Then the rot set in and I charged the battery fully, removed it and began to use my laptop plugged into the mains!

I think that the time may have come to revert to my original modus operandi.

On a more serious note there are two times (apart from those necessitated by the household routine) when it is good to unplug and take a break.  One is when my husband suggests a walk.  The other is when I admit that I am not achieving anything by remaining online.  I have written enough for the day, read all the blogs in my reader, checked my stats more often than necessary, replied to any comments, approved pingbacks, updated my contents and index pages, read my facebook feed, sent and received emails.

There is no point going round in ever decreasing circles of link-clicking.

