Clash of dates

You can’t be in two places at once!

How many decisions in life are governed by this fact for those of us who do not possess a time turner like Hermione Granger?  (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is where she uses hers to good effect.)

My response to this week’s prompt for the promptless (Approach-approach conflict) is perhaps rather trivial. Someone has said, “We become our habits.”  So perhaps how we make these day to day decisions about where to be at any given moment are not so trivial after all.  A good quotation here is attributed to Charles Reade (The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase, Saying and Quotation)

Sow an act, and you reap a habit.   Sow a habit and you reap a character.  Sow a character and you reap a destiny.

Recently on a Friday evening two of the groups I belong to were meeting simultaneously.

Digression:  I remember learning the word simultaneously at junior school.  Some of the class were rehearsing a short play – I have no idea what it was.  It was about a group of children and the word simultaneously was used and immediately explained by an older sibling.  Simultaneously – at the same time.  And it has stuck with me ever since!

I had to choose between the craft group, which I have mentioned in earlier posts, and a concert hosted by a committee on which I serve.  I had missed the craft group meetings at the end of the summer due to holidays and entertaining, but the craft group was started long after I joined the committee.  Thus I regarded the concert as a “prior engagement”, even though I’d have liked to meet up with my craft group friends.  I had even missed their annual “Christmas” meal out, which had been deferred until June!  (When they were deciding on a date, I told them I couldn’t manage it, but no-one asked why.  I heard later that over the meal someone asked where I was.  Everyone went quiet and someone said, “We don’t know.”  I was in a time zone eight hours behind them!)

So I went to the concert and handed out programmes to the brave souls who had ventured out on a wet and windy evening.  I listened to music played by an amateur brass band and sung by a local male voice choir.  (As an amateur musician myself, this was no real hardship.  I am full of admiration in particular for the choir, who sing entirely from memory.)  During the interval I poured the coffee.

Before the concert one of the men in the band had commented that I wasn’t at craft group.  (His wife is a leading light there!)  I explained about being on the committee.  Probably, I should have said something encouraging about the concert and how much I was looking forward to it!

6 thoughts on “Clash of dates

  1. Pingback: ForThePromptless – S. 3, E. 7 – Approach-Approach Conflict | The Queen Creative

  2. Pingback: Letting Go vs Holding On | rarasaur

  3. Pingback: ForThePromptless – S. 3, E. 8 – Love Notes | The Queen Creative

  4. Pingback: ForThePromptless – S. 3, E. 10 – Shopping List! | The Queen Creative

Comments are closed.