Knitting for fun

I have been knitting on and off for years. After finding it difficult to grasp the whole idea of what knitting was about, I gained a proficiency badge in the Brownies and have hardly ever looked back.  I have recently been knitting some children’s garments from patterns, which I have had for a long time.

Slip stitch pattern

Slip stitch pattern

The slip stitch pattern sweater is from a knitting magazine I used to receive by post  (Worldwide Knitting For Hand and Machine Knitters April 1983).

I used Wendy Jubilee DK with 25% Wool.  In the magazine it had a polo neck, but it is easy to adapt to a round neck line as I have done here.  The important thing is to cast off very loosely, so that the jumper will fit over a child’s head.  (Children’s heads are proportionately larger than adults’.)  Also, when catch-stitching down the neck edge, avoid pulling the stitches so tight that the advantage of casting off loosely is lost.  In the magazine the sweater was knitted in a pinkish shade of Lister-Lee Thermo-Knit DK and modelled by a girl.  Mine is intended for a boy.

Another project I did this year was a cardigan in acrylic Baby DK yarn from Wilkinsons.

Girl's cardigan

Girl’s cardigan

Again it is a slip stitch pattern, but this time in two colours – Lemon and White. It is intended for a baby girl. Fortunately after I promised it to a mother-to-be she obligingly produced a little girl! However she could not have the garment until after the local Flower Show, where there was a craft section!  (I didn’t win any prizes this year, but people like to see a variety of entries.)

The pattern is Lister/Lee Target Baby Knitting K696.  The body is knitted in one piece to the armholes.  This avoids a side seam and is something which can be done even when a pattern is not written in this way.  It needs a bit of advance planning.  If the buttonholes are on a strip at the sides of the front pieces, it is important to remember to change to rib (or sometimes garter stitch) and to include buttonholes as required.  In this case the button and button-hole bands are knitted separately in rib.

Jacket with cable pattern

Jacket with cable pattern

Another garment I entered in the flower show was a jacket. I enjoy knitting this cable pattern.
The pattern is Lister-Lee Baby Love K1365. It is for a pram set including hat, mittens and “pull ups”. I have only ever knitted the jacket. My yarn is Wendy Jubilee DK with 25% Wool.

I entered two scarves in the flower show as well as these three garments.  They were the knitted scarf and the multi-coloured crocheted scarf pictured in my Holiday craft post.

2 thoughts on “Knitting for fun

Comments are closed.