On an even keel

Daily Prompt: On the Edge

We all have things as need to do to keep an even keel — blogging, exercising, reading, cooking. What’s yours?

I have many interests and sometimes find it difficult to fit everything into the available time without running out of energy.

My hobbies include reading, writing, arithmetic (in the form of on-line killer sudoku puzzles), playing board games and cards, knitting, crochet and other creative crafts, playing musical instruments (piano and recorders) and I am also active in the local community.

These hobbies can be divided into three broad categories – intellectual, practical and musical.  I often discover that I am concentrating on two at a time.  Doing puzzles and writing my blogs are predominant at present in the intellectual category, I follow too many blogs, but I have an unopened library book.  I do some knitting most days and since I had my piano tuned I remember to play it more regularly.

I also do some cooking and when I have a main meal prepared for me I feel slightly at a loose end during the time I’d normally be in the kitchen.

I need to go out and meet people and enjoy walking in the fresh air.  If the weather closes in and it really is not fit to go out on foot, I begin to suffer from “cabin-fever”.

When I go away from home I leave many of these activities behind.  Last time I was away for over a week I kept in touch with my blogs and found some creative projects to do between outings.

Have you noticed any usual activities missing from my list?

I do not watch television and retail therapy is not high on my list.

The most important things which keep me on an even keel are Bible study and prayer.

15 thoughts on “On an even keel

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt:On Edge | Motherhood and Beyond

  2. Pingback: Dinosaur Day | Andante Cantabile

  3. Pingback: Even Keel? What’s that? Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: On the Edge | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: On the Edge | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: On the edge? Teetering on the brink! | Life & Times

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: On edge, what do you do? Usually, I jump off! | jennifermarshcurtis

  8. Pingback: RAMBLING POST | hastywords

  9. I am quite similar to you. 🙂

    I have just taken up recorder with some friends. We are also working on a piece with piano accompaniment (me struggling) so I try to do it a few minutes each day. Not sure I will ever get the allegro up to speed.

    Physical, mental and spiritual. Usually good food, yoga, music, art, some pogo-ing, bicycling, gardening, learning (Arabic at the moment) and prayer.

    Like

Comments are closed.