Collage

I was spoilt for choice today with Rarasaur’s prompt for the promptless: DIY.

I’m not sure scissors and glue count as DIY equipment, but here is my response.

I nipped into my pictures library and the first relevant picture which came up was a photograph of the collage I made to create a new banner for my one-year-old blog. This project taught me a lot.

The first thing I should have done was to go onto wordpress and look at the aspect ratio of banners.  I didn’t!  (Aspect ratio is the ratio of the height to the width.)

I knew banners were wide and short, so I took a piece of A4 black card and used it landscape ignoring the top part. I made my design using luminous craft paper – two shades of orange and one of yellow. The bright sunlight on the day the photograph was taken disguised the difference between the oranges. It did occur to me that I might have made the design too narrow for its height, so I arranged more black card behind my artwork. (I explained before that I did not take art as an exam subject, but missed the relaxing atmosphere of art classes.)

Banner

Banner

If you haven’t seen the finished banner it is on my other blog.

I also have a collage on my post Hints and tips.

I enjoyed making that one so much that when I was planning a visit to an elderly friend with dementia, I decided to use Christmas cards to make her a picture.
DSC02438

You really can have your cake and eat it when you give a picture away, but keep its photograph!

