Qualia – a personal experience

Rarasaur’s prompt for the prompltess this week is Qualia.

Qualia (single form, quale) is a term that refers to the individual, conscious, subjective elements of experiences. Examples of qualia are the pain of a headache, the taste of wine, or the perceived redness of an evening sky.  In other words, qualia refers to “the way things seem to us”.

More on Wiki: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qualia

I have to admit I hadn’t heard of it before.

When I read the definition and the ideas for using it I was struck straight away by a memory.

When my son was only a few months old I remember a moment when I was holding him in front of the kitchen window, expecting him to look through it to the garden.  Instead he was looking downwards.

I followed his gaze to the stainless steel sink.  What was so interesting?  The sunlight was being reflected and broken up into a few different shades.  Without his viewpoint I’d have missed that completely.  He couldn’t tell me what had caught his interest – he was not yet one year old.  (We moved away from there before his first birthday.)

This led me on to a realisation that I could possibly write here about an experience I have had more than once of knowing how another person was reacting before they spoke.  Sometimes when someone has come to see me, perhaps for the first time, I can be aware of what they are noticing and how my home appears to them.

I can’t see my readers’ reactions to my blog posts unless they take the time and trouble to leave me a comment.

Do you often see something as if through another person’s eyes?

6 thoughts on “Qualia – a personal experience

  1. Pingback: For The Promptless – S. 2, E. 11 – Qualia | Queen Creative

  2. Whale, quail, regale were flitting through my mind so I clicked through to check the pronunciation. 🙂 I don’t remember seeing this word before.

    Like

  3. I try to see situations as others might, but I’m sure I’m not always successful. It’s been interesting the last couple months to follow my son’s gaze (he just turned 4 months) to see what has caught his attention that I hadn’t seen. Great response to the prompt.

    Like

  4. Pingback: For The Promptless – S. 2, E. 12 – DIY | Queen Creative

Comments are closed.