…but what will it be?

This is by way of a post script to my earlier post – My name is…

I did not address the question of whether I’d like to change my name.  I changed my surname when during my marriage ceremony, but I have not thought about changing my Christian name as it has never troubled me.

Names are very important in the Bible.  Many people’s names were changed after they had encountered God and gained a new purpose in life.  Abram became Abraham, his wife Sarai became Sarah, Jacob became Israel, Jesus renamed Simon as Peter, Saul became Paul and there are many other examples.

I believe that there will be a new name waiting for me after this life.

Revelation 2:17 I will give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it.

Daily Prompt: Say your name

4 thoughts on “…but what will it be?

  1. Pingback: My Name Is . . . | A Short A Day

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Say Your Name | Joe's Musings

  3. That verse about a new name has always seemed like a somewhat scary but good thing too me. It scares me that I may not be worthy to receive a new name. But hopefully God still has a purpose for me. I know He is worthy and I’m his child. So I will receive a new name. I just wish I could be a better person sometimes.

    Like

Comments are closed.