Remake

I enjoy making things.  A few years ago I knitted a tunic for myself.  My weight had been increasing steadily for some time and I had resigned myself to being much heavier than I would have liked.  So I knitted the tunic in a realistic size, following the pattern in every detail.  It was a pattern from Scandinavian Knitting Design, which  I enjoyed knitting.  However, I am shorter than average with arms in proportion to my height and it turned out to be a little too long, showing below my coat and with rather long sleeves.

Original tunic 2010

Original tunic 2010

I was advised to lose some weight and decided to do this by cutting down on fattening food, eating less bread and taking more exercise.  It worked and I lost over one stone.

The following winter my tunic drowned me.  I grasped the nettle and pulled it back.  The re-knitted version fits me far better than the original one ever did.  As it was smaller than before, there was some wool left over at the end.  I used it to knit a hat, which I donated to a project to help homeless people.  (I had made myself a hat with the surplus wool from the larger tunic.)

Reknitted tunic 2012

Reknitted tunic 2012

My tunic is not the only thing being remade.

People can be remade.  This is not the same thing as “reinventing oneself”.  We can make changes to our appearance, but permanent changes to our character are more difficult.  We need help, not from a therapist, but from someone who knows us better than we know ourselves. Psalm 139 and Romans 12:1-2 might help you understand what I mean.

Written in response to Rarasaur’s Prompt for the promptless

